Trey Jones
May 31, 2016

BMX Recap & Preview: 4th Annual Van Doren Invitational BMX Bowl Event

The world's top riders will soon gather in Huntington Beach, CA, for the fourth instalment of the Van Doren Invitational BMX Bowl event at the Vans US Open of Surfing. The contest has earned don't-miss-this-one status, by annually holding a jam style contest on the beach that produces the highest levels of riding, while maintaining the laid-back vibe of a session with friends. 

Larry Edgar

Last year's winner Dennis Enarson and runner up Gary Young, will both make the drive up from San Diego to compete again. After earning the top spot in the 2014 prelim, Enarson had to pull out of the final due to a last minute injury suffered in practice. He made up for that and more in 2015, winning the finals with difficult tricks and effortless style, and an insane tailwhip transfer from the deep end all the way over the elbow. 

Downside grinding around the bowl corner to a 2nd place finish, Gary Young returned to the podium again. This followed up Gary's well-deserved win in 2014, where his fast and unique runs were capped off by a perfect 450 transfer into the bowl.

Kevin Peraza

The 2014 runner up Chase Hawk, a staple every year at this event, will return for 2016. He won the 2013 prelim, before finishing 3rd in the finals, and has twice won the BEST LINE category at the Van Doren Invitational. Chase's style and flow, and ability to make unthinkable lines look easy, has to be seen live to be fully appreciated. 

Daniel Sandoval returned to the podium in 2015 with a 3rd place finish. Another rider who has competed at every Van Doren Invitational, he came out on top at the inaugural event in 2013. 

You can always expect Daniel's runs to be packed with difficult tricks from beginning to end, which repeatedly keeps him in the mix for a top placing.

Mike "Hucker" Clark

Tom Dugan soared higher than the rest at each of the Van Doren Invitational HIGH AIR comps and he'll be back to blast again in 2016, along with the 2015 BEST TRICK and BEST LINE winners, Larry Edgar and Greg Illingworth. Other top pros expected back for the 2016 Van Doren Invitational include: Corey Bohan, Pat Casey, Scotty Cranmer, Tyler Fernengel, Dan Foley, Kris Fox, Sergio Layos, Kevin Peraza and Jason Watts. 

Vans turned 50 this March, and the celebration continues in Huntington Beach with Steve Van Doren, the Vans family, and a stacked field of riders. Everyone's invited to the party during the US Open of Surfing, and we hope to see you there!