SCHEDULE #VANSUSOPEN
Jagger Eaton secured his spot into the Semi-Finals. Photo: Anthony Acosta
Aug 03, 2018

Vans Park Series Pro Tour, Huntington Beach Final Rounds Determined

Men’s Event Wildcards Luiz Francisco, Heimana Reynolds, and Zion Wright Deliver Outstanding Performances 

Open Qualifiers Bryce Wettstein, Sakura Yosozumi, and Poppy Starr Olsen Advance into Finals

2018 VPS Americas Continental Champions Jake Wooten and Dora Varella Advance to 2018 VPS World Championships in China this October


WATCH LIVE BROADCAST ON ETN

Los Angeles – Friday, August 4, 1PM PDT
New York – Friday, August 4, 4PM EDT
London – Friday, August 4, 9PM GMT+1
Hong Kong – Saturday, August 5, 4AM HKT
Sydney – Saturday, August 5, 6AM AEST

Patrick Ryan. Photo: Anthony Acosta

The 2018 Vans Park Series Pro Tour in Huntington Beach completed its prelim rounds earlier today to determine the final lineup for the men and women’s main event tomorrowAugust 4. The VPS Men’s Pro Tour began with 18 challengers gunning for one of ten open spots in the semi-finals. Event wildcard and winner of the 2017 VPS Brazil National Championships, Luiz Francisco qualified in first, with a dominating performance. Luiz’s comfort in the park was no surprise, considering his 2017 finish in Huntington Beach earned him 2nd place on the Continental podium. Strong performances also came from the other two event wildcards, Heimana Reynolds, who earned 2nd, and Zion Wright, known for his street skating prowess, placed 6th, impressing the judges with a well-rounded run that proved he has what it takes to hang with the top-level park terrain skaters.

Roman Pabich

The women’s prelims took place yesterday, highlighting open qualifier Bryce Wettstein, who made a strong impression on the judges early on and earned the highest score of the day with a 91.73. Japan’s Sakura Yosozumi trailed closed behind, returning to the VPS spotlight after winning the Brazil tour stop earlier this year. Select Pros Kisa Nakamura and Lizzie Armanto also made a comeback with clean and powerful lines, followed by a last-minute score shuffle by current Women’s park terrain World Champion Nora Vasconcellos, who snuck into 7th place at the last minute in her final run of the day landing a kickflip backside disaster on the big quarterpipe.

For complete results of this week’s contests, visit www.vansparkseries.com for more information.


2018 VPS Men’s Pro Tour, Huntington Beach

Tour Challengers Advancing to Semis to meet VPS Select Pros

  1. Luiz Francisco (BRA)
  2. Heimana Reynolds (USA)
  3. Jagger Eaton (USA)
  4. Patrick Ryan (USA)
  5. Willy Lara (USA)
  6. Zion Wright (USA)
  7. Murilo Peres (BRA)
  8. Roman Pabich (USA)
  9. CJ Collins (USA)
  10. Josh Borden (USA)

The 2018 VPS Men’s Pro Tour semis and finals will commence on Saturday, August 4, for the final showcase of park terrain skateboarding in Huntington Beach as part of the Vans US Open. Advancing tour challengers from today’s heats will compete against top-seeded VPS Men’s Select Pros, in pursuit of valuable points toward their global rankings and a chance to compete in the World Championships in China this October.


RESULTS

2018 Women’s Pro Tour, Huntington Beach

Semi-Finals Results

  1. Bryce Wettstein (USA)
  2. Sakura Yosozumi (JPN)
  3. Kisa Nakamura (JPN)
  4. Lizzie Armanto (USA)
  5. Brighton Zeuner (USA)
  6. Poppy Starr Olsen (AUS)
  7. Nora Vasconcellos (USA)
  8. Jordyn Barratt (USA)

2018 Men’s Americas Continental Championship Results

  1. Jake Wooten (USA)
  2. Heimana Reynolds (USA)
  3. Ben Hatchell (USA)

2018 Women’s Americas Continental Championship Results

  1. Dora Varella (BRA)
  2. Arianna Carmona (USA)
  3. Hunter Long (USA)
Viewport width =